Skip Navigation

Glen Sperandio Health System Pharmacist of the Year


This award is the highest honor that the Indiana Society of Health-System Pharmacists gives to a practicing pharmacist. The award recognizes superior achievement and services of a deserving individual.  The criteria for this award is as follows:

  • Demonstrates outstanding service in pharmacy practice.
  • Serves in professional organizations.
  • Provides outstanding service to the community.
  • Demonstrates positive interaction with other healthcare workers.

About Glen J. Sperandio (courtesy of Purdue University)

Dr. Sperandio was a member and former Executive Director of the Indiana Society of Hospital Pharmacists and a member and former Grand Regent of Kappa Psi. He was listed in Who's Who in AmericaWho's Who in the WorldWho's Who in Medicine and Health CareLeaders in American Education, and American Men and Women in Science. He was a member of the West Lafayette Parks and Recreation Foundation Board of Directors, the Covenant Presbyterian Church, and the Lafayette High 12 Club. Further membership included the Blue Ribbon Committee of the National Association of Boards of Pharmacy and the Eli Lilly All American Hospital Pharmacy Panel and Editor of Hospital Pharmacy Notes, Secretary Treasurer of the American Pharmaceutical Association, former Vice President of the Parenteral Drug Association, the International Federation of Pharmacists, American Society of Hospital Pharmacists, American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy, Society of Cosmetic Chemists, and an Honorary Life Membership in Indiana Pharmacists Association (1997). Dr. Sperandio was named Distinguished Alumnus of St. Louis College of Pharmacy, an honorary member of the Indiana Society of Hospital Pharmacy, and received the Distinguished Educator Award and Kappa Psi Pharmaceutical fraternity Outstanding Service Award. He established the first Department of Clinical Pharmacy in the United States and was the first officially named Professor of Clinical Pharmacy in the academic world. He wrote more than 250 publications and served as consultant on clinical pharmacy to the Surgeon General of the United Stated from 1973 to 1980

Past Recipients:
2020 - Ashley Parrott - Montpelier, OH
2019 - Emily Papineau - Fishers
2018 - Christopher Scott - Indianapolis
2017 - James Mowry - Lebanon
2016 - Cindy Selzer - Indianapolis
2015 - Amy Hyduk - Fort Wayne
2014 - John Hertig - Indianapolis
2013 - Kyle Hultgren - Fishers
2012 - Deanna Kania - Fishers
2011 - Michael Melby - Bloomington
2010 - R. Brian Wolfe - Muncie
2009 - Joyce Thomas - Mount Vernon
2008 - Sara St. Angelo - Indianapolis
2007 - Donna Wall - Indianapolis
2006 - William Malloy - Indianapolis
2005 - Jim Seibert - Newburg
2004 - Julie Everett
2003 - Suellyn Sorensen - Indianapolis
2002 - Daniel Degnan - Carmel
2001 - Jennifer McComb - Yoder
2000 - Kenneth Hurless - Newburgh
1999 - Francine Breckler - Brownsburg
1998 - Michael Sievers - Leo