Skip Navigation

Donald L. Moore Independent Pharmacist of the Year


This award is presented by the Indiana Academy of Independent Pharmacists to a pharmacist who advocates for independent pharmacy and works to elevate the profession.  The criteria for this award are as follows:

  • Must have owned or worked in an independently-owned pharmacy located in Indiana.
  • Demonstrate exceptional dedication to the profession of pharmacy in their workplace.
  • Show involvement in his/her local community.

About Donald L. Moore:

Donald L. Moore was a 1953 graduate of Purdue University and a member of Kappa Psi Pharmaceutical Fraternity. He was a First Lieutenant in the Army Reserves, Chemical Corps.  He was a pharmacist and manager of Muir's Drug Stores in Muncie and Kokomo from 1953-1955. He then opened Moore Rexall Drug Store in Kokomo in 1955 where he worked until his retirement in 2001.  Donald was a past president of the Howard County Pharmaceutical Association, Indiana Pharmacists Association and National Community Pharmacy Association. Donald was also heavily involved in many other associations and societies and the recipient of numerous awards including the Bowl of Hygeia and the Sagamore of the Wabash. 

Past Recipients:
2020 - Hannah Smith - Goshen
2019 - Hamid Abbaspour - Indianapolis
2018 - Chad Burks - New Albany
2017 - Steve Davisson - Salem
2016 - Harry Webb - Rochester
2015 - Patrick Cashen - Columbus
2014 - John Cowan - Lebanon
2013 - Ralph Anderson - Bedford
2012 - Roy Haney - Muncie